Republic Day of India Celebrated On January 26th 2009

India Republic Day

India Republic Day

Republic Day of India Celebrated On January 26th 2009

The Republic Day of India is a national holiday of India to mark the adoption of the Constitution of India and the transition of India from a British Dominion to a republic on January 26, 1950. It is one of the three national holidays in India.

Although India obtained its independence on August 15, 1947, the Constitution of India came into effect only on January 26, 1950. During the transition period from 1947 to 1950, King George VI was the head of country. C. Rajagopalachari served as the Governor-General of India during this period. Following January 26, 1950, Rajendra Prasad was elected as the president of India..

To mark the importance of this occasion, every year a grand parade is held in the capital, New Delhi, from the Raisina Hill near the Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s Palace), along the Rajpath, past India Gate and on to the historic Red Fort. The different regiments of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force march past in all their finery and official decorations. The President of India who is the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces, takes the salute. Parades demonstrating the cultures of the various states and regions of India are also held and broadcast nationwide on television. The parade also includes vibrant displays and floats and traditionally ends with a flypast by Indian Air Force jets.

Celebrations are also held in state capitals, where the governor of the state unfurls the national flag. If the Governor of the state is unwell, or is unavailable for some reason, the Chief Minister of the state assumes the honor of unfurling the National Flag of India.

Republic Day Military Photo From India

Republic Day Military Photo From India

Chief Guest
India hosts another head of state as the chief guest on this day. The strategic importance of any nation as associated by India can be easily attributed from this list.

  • 1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
  • 1978 President Dr.Patrick Hillery Ireland
  • 1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
  • 1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
  • 1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
  • 1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
  • 1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
  • 1998 President Jacques Chirac France
  • 1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
  • 2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
  • 2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
  • 2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
  • 2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
  • 2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
  • 2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuk Bhutan
  • 2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
  • 2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
  • 2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
  • 2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan


Happy India Republic Day Wallpaper

Happy India Republic Day Wallpaper

2 Responses

  1. I Proud Of INDIAN

  2. Happy Republic Day!!!!!!!!!!!! And i am proud to be an India…………..


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: