Chakras – Throat Chakra – Vishuddi Chakrum

Throat Chakra

© Throat Chakra

Many years ago, I compiled the following information about the Throat Chakra from various online, offline and personal resources:
The Vishuddi Chakra According To Swami Shivananda:

“Vishuddha Chakra is situated within the Sushumna Nadi at the base of the throat, Kantha-Mula Sthana. This corresponds to Janar Loka. It is the centre of Akasa Tattva (ether element). The Tattva is of pure blue colour. Above this, all other Chakras belong to Manas Tattva. The presiding deity is Sadasiva (Isvara Linga), and the Goddess is Shakini. From this centre emanate 16 Yoga Nadis which appear like the petals of a lotus. The vibrations that are produced by the Nadis are represented by the 16 Sanskrit vowels: aü aü iü aü uü aü çü eü eü iü eü aiü oü auü aü and aþ. Akasa Mandal (the region of ether) is round in shape like the fullmoon. The Bija of Akasa Tattva hö (haü) is in this centre. It is of white colour. This Chakra corresponds to Laryngeal plexus in the physical body.

The concentration on the Tattva of this Chakra is called Akasa Dharana. He who practises this Dharana will not perish even in Pralaya. He attains the highest success. He gets the full knowledge of the four Vedas by meditating on this Chakra. He becomes a Trikala Jnani (who knows the past, the present and the future).”

Tantra: Akasha, Dwyashtapatrambuja, Kantha, Kanthadesha, Kanthambhoja, Kanthambuja, Kanthapadma, Kanthapankaja, Nirmala-Padma, Shodasha, Shodasha-Dala, Shodasha-Patra, Shodashara, Shodashollasa-Dala, Vishuddha, Vishuddhi

Vedas (late Upanishads): Kantha Chakra, Vishuddha, Vishuddhi

Puranic: Vishuddha, Vishuddhi

Name Meaning: Pure

Ruling Planet: Jupiter

Associated Age: 28 – 35 years of age

Shape: Crescent

Sense Organ(s): Ears

Work Organ(s): Vocal Cords

Location: Base of Throat, top of sternum

Color: Sky Blue, Smoke Blue, White, Mixed Dark and Light Blues

Kosa: Mental sheath or Manamaya Kosa

Ruling God: Five-Faced, Sadashiva

Ruling Goddess: Shakini

Day: Friday

Gland/Organ: Thyroid, Tongue, Pharynx, Larynx

Astrological Sign(s): Gemini, Taurus, Aquarius

Petals: 16

Sanskrit Letters on Petals: am, aam, im, iim, um, uum, rim, reem, lri, lreem, em, aim, om, aum, am, aham

Note: G#

Frequency: 393 cycles per second

Loka: Janar

Tala: Sutala

Element: Air

Crystals/Minerals: Aquamarine, Turquoise, Chrysochola, Celestite, Milky Quartz, Blue Topaz, Talc

Bija Akshara (Seed Mantra): Ham

Bija Bearer: Elephant

Flower(s): Rose, Primrose, Violets, Alyssum

Tarot: Hierophant

Rune(s): Tiwaz, Perthro

Mantra: Shreem Hreem Kleem Aim Kamalasinyai Swaha

Opened, Gives: Confidence, Communication, Eloquence, Understanding, Singing, Poetry, Descriptiveness

Closed, Gives: Passiveness, Brevity in Speech, Misunderstandings, Harsh Speech

Reference (With Permission)

Take the demarcation of Thirupathi as a holy place of pilgrimage; Lord Venkateshwara, the deity worshipped there is called the Lord of the seven hills, for seven hills have to be climbed before the temple is reached. Obviously the six Chakras (energy centres) and the Sahasraara are indicated here, for in Raajayoga, the supreme is revealed, only when the individual raises the vital energy – the Kundalini Shakthi – up to the seventh stage. One of the hills is named Seshagiri, meaning, snake hill. From the plains, the range gives the appearance of a snake with a raised hood. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

Again, man alone is capable of awakening the serpent-power of the life-energy that lies dormant in him as the Kundalini Shakthi and elevate it through chakras (higher fields of awareness), up to the thousand-spoked wheel on the very crest of the head. This is the uurdhwa Gathi (the Upward Path). This yoga saadhana is possible for man, since he has a straight body and can sit with his trunk and head held in a straight vertical line. Quadrupeds and bipeds other than man are severely handicapped. They cannot tap the vital Kundalini Shakthi. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

%d bloggers like this: