Chakras – Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura Chakrum

Solar Chakra

© Solar Chakra

Many years ago, I compiled the following information about the Solar Plexus Chakra from various online, offline and personal resources:
The Manipura Chakra According To Swami Shivananda:

“Manipura is the third Chakra from the Muladhara. It is located within the Sushumna Nadi, in the Nabhi Sthana (region of navel). This has its corresponding centre in the physical body and has control over the liver, stomach, etc. This is a very important centre. From this Chakra emanate ten Yoga Nadis which appear like the petals of a lotus. The vibrations that are produced by the Nadis are represented by the Sanskrit letters: òaü, òhaü, òaü, taü, thaü, daü, dhaü, naü, paü, and phaü. The Chakra is of the colour of dark clouds. Within there is a space triangular in form. It is the Agni Mandala (region of fire – Agni Tattva). The Bijakshara rö (raü), the Bija of Agni, is here. The presiding deity is Vishnu and Goddess is Lakshmi. This Chakra corresponds to Svah or Svarga Loka and to Solar Plexus in the physical body.

The Yogi who concentrates at this Chakra gets Patala Siddhi, can acquire hidden treasures and will be free from all diseases. He has no fear at all from Agni (fire). ‘Even if he is thrown into the burning fire, he remains alive without fear of death.’ (Gheranda Samhita).”

Tantra:Dashachchada, Dashadala Padma, Dashapatra, Dashapatrambuja, Manipura, Manipuraka, Nabhipadma, Nabhipankaja

Vedas (late Upanishads): Manipura, Manipuraka, Nabhi Chakra

Puranic: Manipura, Nabhi Chakra

Name Meaning: City of Gems

Ruling Planet: Sun

Associated Age: 14 – 21 years of age

Shape: Triangle

Sense Organ(s): Eyes

Work Organ(s): Legs and Feet

Location: Between Navel and the bottom of the Sternum

Color: Yellow, Orange, Gold, White, Blue

Kosa: Vital-Air sheath or Pranamaya Kosa

Ruling God: Vishnu

Ruling Goddess: Lakshmi

Day: Wednesday

Gland/Organ: Pancreas, Gall Bladder

Astrological Sign(s): Leo, Sagittarius, Virgo

Petals: 10

Sanskrit Letters on Petals: dam, dham, nam, tam, tham, dam, dham, nam, pam, pham

Note: E

Frequency: 349 cycles per second

Loka: Swar

Tala: Talatala

Element: Fire

Crystals/Minerals: Citrine, Gold, Tigers Eye, Amber, Golden Topaz, Golden Agate, Orange or Yellow Calcite

Bija Akshara (Seed Mantra): Ram

Bija Bearer: Ram

Flower(s): Honeysuckle, Sweet Pea, and Daisies

Tarot: The High Priestess, The Emperor

Rune(s): Eihwaz, Dagaz

Mantra: Om Namo Bhagwate Rudray Swaha

Opened, Gives: Personal Power, Determination, Drive, Will Power, Self Esteem, Energy, and Passion

Closed, Gives: Belittlement, Procrastination, Complacency, Apathy, Introversion

Reference (With Permission)

Take the demarcation of Thirupathi as a holy place of pilgrimage; Lord Venkateshwara, the deity worshipped there is called the Lord of the seven hills, for seven hills have to be climbed before the temple is reached. Obviously the six Chakras (energy centres) and the Sahasraara are indicated here, for in Raajayoga, the supreme is revealed, only when the individual raises the vital energy – the Kundalini Shakthi – up to the seventh stage. One of the hills is named Seshagiri, meaning, snake hill. From the plains, the range gives the appearance of a snake with a raised hood. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

Again, man alone is capable of awakening the serpent-power of the life-energy that lies dormant in him as the Kundalini Shakthi and elevate it through chakras (higher fields of awareness), up to the thousand-spoked wheel on the very crest of the head. This is the uurdhwa Gathi (the Upward Path). This yoga saadhana is possible for man, since he has a straight body and can sit with his trunk and head held in a straight vertical line. Quadrupeds and bipeds other than man are severely handicapped. They cannot tap the vital Kundalini Shakthi. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

%d bloggers like this: