Chakras – Root Chakra – Muladhara Chakrum

Root Chakra

© Root Chakra

Many years ago, I compiled the following information about the Root Chakra from various online, offline and personal resources:
The Muladhara Chakra According To Swami Shivananda:

“Muladhara Chakra is located at the base of the spinal column. It lies between the origin of the reproductory organ and the anus. It is just below the Kanda and the junction where Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadis meet. Two fingers above the anus and about two fingers below the genitals, four fingers in width is the space where the Muladhara Chakra is situated. This is the Adhara Chakra (support) as the other Chakras are above this. Kundalini, which gives power and energy to all the Chakras, lies at this Chakra. Hence this, which is the support of all is called Muladhara or Adhara Chakra.

From this Chakra four important Nadis emanate which appear as petals of a lotus. The subtle vibrations that are made by each Nadi are represented by the Sanskrit letters: vaü, aü, ùaü, and saü. The Yoni that is in the centre of this Chakra is called Kama and it is worshipped by Siddhas. Here Kundalini lies dormant. Ganesa is the Devata of this Chakra. The seven underworlds: Atala, Vitala, Sutala, Talatala, Rasatala, Mahatala and Patala Lokas are below this Chakra. This Chakra corresponds with Bhu Loka or Bhu-Mandal, physical plane (region of earth). Bhuvah, Svah or Svarga, Maha, Jana, Tapa and Satya Lokas are above this Chakra. All the underworlds refer to some minor Chakras in the limbs which are controlled by the Muladhara Chakra. That Yogi, who has penetrated this Chakra through Prithvi Dharan, has conquered the Prithvi Tattva. He has no fear of death from earth. Prithvi is of yellow colour. The golden Tripura (fire, sun and moon) is termed the ‘Bija’. It is also called the great energy (Param Tejas) which rests on the Muladhara Chakra and which is known as Svayambhu Linga. Near this Linga is the golden region known as Kula and the presiding deity is Dakini (Shakti). Brahma Granthi or the knot of Brahma is in this Chakra. Vishnu Granthi and Rudra Granthi are in the Anahata and Ajna Chakras. (laü) is the Bija of Muladhara Chakra.

The wise Yogi, who concentrates and meditates on the Muladhara Chakra, acquires the full knowledge of Kundalini and the means to awaken it. When Kundalini is awakened, he gets Darduri Siddhi, the power to rise from the ground. He can control the breath, mind and semen. His Prana enters the middle Brahma Nadi. All his sins are destroyed. He acquires knowledge of the past, present and future. He enjoys the natural Bliss (Sahaja Ananda).”

Tantra: Adhara, Brahma Padma, Bhumi Chakra, Chaturdala, Chatuhpatra, Muladhara, Mula Chakra, Mula Padma

Vedas (late Upanishads): Adhara, Brahma, Muladhara, Mulakanda

Puranic: Adhara, Muladhara

Name Meaning: Foundation

Ruling Planet: Mars

Associated Age: 1 – 7 years of age

Shape: Square

Sense Organ(s): Nose

Work Organ(s): Anus

Location: Base of Spine – Genital Region

Color: Red, Orange

Kosa: Food sheath or Annamaya Kosa

Ruling God: Brahma

Ruling Goddess: Dakini

Day: Monday

Gland/Organ: Genitalia

Astrological Sign(s): Aries, Taurus, Scorpio and Capricorn

Petals: 4

Sanskrit Letters on Petals: vam, sham, sham, sam

Note: High C

Frequency: 535 cycles per second

Loka: Bhur

Tala: Patala

Element: Earth

Crystals/Minerals: Garnet, Tourmaline, Obsidian, Smokey Quartz, Jasper, Bloodstone, Unichite, Selenite, Jade, Pyrite

Bija Akshara (Seed Mantra): Lam

Bija Bearer: Airavata

Flower(s): Aromatic Woods, Resins, Saps

Tarot: The Magician, The Fool

Rune(s): Uruz, Thurisaz

Mantra: Gan Ganapataye Namah

Opened, Gives: Groundedness, Stability, Balance, Strength, Fertility, Health, Longevity, Stamina, Passion

Closed, Gives: Insecurity, Introversion, Low Self Esteem, Frailty, Insecurity, Uncoordination

Reference (With Permission)

Take the demarcation of Thirupathi as a holy place of pilgrimage; Lord Venkateshwara, the deity worshipped there is called the Lord of the seven hills, for seven hills have to be climbed before the temple is reached. Obviously the six Chakras (energy centres) and the Sahasraara are indicated here, for in Raajayoga, the supreme is revealed, only when the individual raises the vital energy – the Kundalini Shakthi – up to the seventh stage. One of the hills is named Seshagiri, meaning, snake hill. From the plains, the range gives the appearance of a snake with a raised hood. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

Again, man alone is capable of awakening the serpent-power of the life-energy that lies dormant in him as the Kundalini Shakthi and elevate it through chakras (higher fields of awareness), up to the thousand-spoked wheel on the very crest of the head. This is the uurdhwa Gathi (the Upward Path). This yoga saadhana is possible for man, since he has a straight body and can sit with his trunk and head held in a straight vertical line. Quadrupeds and bipeds other than man are severely handicapped. They cannot tap the vital Kundalini Shakthi. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

%d bloggers like this: