Chakras – Navel Chakra – Swadhisthana Chakrum

Navel Chakra

© Navel Chakra

Many years ago, I compiled the following information about the Navel Chakra from various online, offline and personal resources:
The Swadisthana Chakra According To Swami Shivananda:

“Svadhishthana Chakra is located within the Sushumna Nadi at the root of the reproductory organ. This corresponds to Bhuvar Loka. This has control over the lower abdomen, kidneys, etc., in the physical body. Jala Mandal (region of water – Apa Tattva) is here. Within this Chakra there is a space like a crescent moon or the form of a conch or Kunda flower. The presiding deity is Lord Brahma and Devata is Goddess Rakini. Bijakshara (vaü), the Bija of Varuna, is in this Chakra. The colour of the Chakra is pure blood-like red or the colour of Sindura (vermilion). From this centre six Yoga Nadis emanate, which appear like the petals of a lotus. The vibrations that are produced by the Nadis are represented by the Sanskrit letters: baü, bhaü, maü, yaü, raü and laü.

He who concentrates at this Chakra and meditates on the Devata has no fear of water. He has perfect control over the water element. He gets many psychic powers, intuitional knowledge and a perfect control over his senses. He has full knowledge of the astral entities. Kama, Krodha, Lobha, Moha, Mada, Matsarya and other impure qualities are completely annihilated. The Yogi becomes the conqueror of death (Mrityunjaya).”

Tantra: Adhishthana, Bhima, Shatpatra, Skaddala Padma, Swadhishthana, Wari Chakra

Vedas (late Upanishads): Medhra, Swadhishthana

Puranic: Swadhishthana

Name Meaning: Abode of the Self

Ruling Planet: Mercury

Associated Age: 8 – 14 years of age

Shape: Circle

Sense Organ(s): Tongue

Work Organ(s): Genitals

Location: 4 Fingers above Genitalia

Color: Orange, Yellow, Red, Red-Orange, White

Kosa: Food sheath or Annamaya Kosa and the Vital-Air sheath or Pranamaya Kosa

Ruling God: Four Armed, Lord Vishnu

Ruling Goddess: Shrivatsa and Kaustubhamani

Day: Tuesday

Gland/Organ: Spleen

Astrological Sign(s): Cancer, Libra, and Scorpio

Petals: 6

Sanskrit Letters on Petals: bam, bham, mam, yam, ram, lam

Note: D

Loka: Bhuvar

Tala: Mahatala

Element: Earth, Water

Crystals/Minerals: Coral, Onyx, Citrine, Clear Quartz, Tigers Eye, Moonstone

Bija Akshara (Seed Mantra): Vam

Bija Bearer: Makara

Flower(s): Jessamine, Azalea, Fruit Blossoms

Tarot: The Moon, The Lovers

Rune(s): Fehu, Othala

Mantra: Om Namo Narayana

Opened, Gives: Peace, Inner Rhythm, Movement, Balance, Harmony, Sentimentality, Maternal/Paternal Instincts

Closed, Gives: Seclusion, Confusion, Over Indulgence, Over Stimulation, Living in Dark Places

Reference (With Permission)

Take the demarcation of Thirupathi as a holy place of pilgrimage; Lord Venkateshwara, the deity worshipped there is called the Lord of the seven hills, for seven hills have to be climbed before the temple is reached. Obviously the six Chakras (energy centres) and the Sahasraara are indicated here, for in Raajayoga, the supreme is revealed, only when the individual raises the vital energy – the Kundalini Shakthi – up to the seventh stage. One of the hills is named Seshagiri, meaning, snake hill. From the plains, the range gives the appearance of a snake with a raised hood. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

Again, man alone is capable of awakening the serpent-power of the life-energy that lies dormant in him as the Kundalini Shakthi and elevate it through chakras (higher fields of awareness), up to the thousand-spoked wheel on the very crest of the head. This is the uurdhwa Gathi (the Upward Path). This yoga saadhana is possible for man, since he has a straight body and can sit with his trunk and head held in a straight vertical line. Quadrupeds and bipeds other than man are severely handicapped. They cannot tap the vital Kundalini Shakthi. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

%d bloggers like this: