Chakras – Crown Chakra – Sahasrara Chakrum

Crown Chakra

© Crown Chakra

Many years ago, I compiled the following information about the Crown Chakra from various online, offline and personal resources:
The Sahasrara Chakra According To Swami Shivananda:

“Sahasrara Chakra is the abode of Lord Siva. This corresponds to Satya Loka. This is situated at the crown of the head. When Kundalini is united with Lord Siva at the Sahasrara Chakra, the Yogi enjoys the Supreme Bliss, Parama Ananda. When Kundalini is taken to this centre, the Yogi attains the superconscious state and the Highest Knowledge. He becomes a Brahmavidvarishtha or a full-blown Jnani.

The word Sahasradala-Padma denotes that this Padma has 1000 petals. That is, one thousand Yoga Nadis emanate from this centre. There are different opinions about the exact number of petals. It is quite sufficient if you know that innumerable Nadis proceed from this centre. As in the case of other Chakras, the vibrations that are made by the Yoga Nadis are represented by the Sanskrit letters. All the 50 letters of the Sanskrit alphabet are repeated here again and again on all Yoga Nadis. This is a Sukshma centre. The corresponding centre in the physical body is in the brain.

The term ‘Shat-Chakras’ refers only to the chief six Chakras, viz., Muladhara, Svadhishthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha and Ajna. Above all these we have Sahasrara Chakra. This is the chief of all the Chakras. All the Chakras have their intimate connection with this centre. Hence this is not included as one among the Shat-Chakras. This is situated above all the Chakras.”

Tantra: Adhomukha Mahapadma, Amlana Padma, Dashashatadala Padma, Pankaja, Sahasrabja, Sahasrachchada Panikaja, Sahasradala, Sahasradala Adhomukha Padma, Sahasradala Padma, Sahasrapatra, Sahasrara, Sahasrara Ambuja, Sahasrara Mahapadma, Sahasrara Padma, Sahasrara Saroruha, Shiras Padma, Shuddha Padma, Wyoma, Wyomambhoja

Vedas (late Upanishads): Akasha Chakra, Kapalasamputa, Sahasradala, Sahasrara, Sahasrara Kamala (Pankaja or Padma), Sthana, Wyoma, Wyomambuja

Puranic: Parama, Sahasradala, Sahasraparna Padma, Sahasrapatra, Sahasrara, Sahasrara Kamala (Parikaja or Padma), Shantyatita, Shantyatita Pada

Name Meaning: Thousand Petaled

Ruling Planet: Ketu

Associated Age: None

Location: Top and Brahmarandhra or above the head

Color: Colorless, Ultraviolet, White, Gold, Blue, Camphor

Kosa: Bliss Sheath or Anandamaya Kosa

Ruling God: Nityananda Shiva

Ruling Goddess: Nirvana Shakti

Day: Sunday

Gland/Organ: Pineal Gland and Cerebral Cortex

Astrological Sign(s): Pisces and Capricorn

Petals: 1,000

Sanskrit Letters on Petals: A to Ksa

Note: High B

Frequency: 493 cycles per second

Loka: Sathya Loka

Tala: Atala

Element: Origin of Ether

Crystals/Minerals: Diamond, Light Amethyst, Sugilite, Clear Quartz, Apophyllite

Bija Akshara (Seed Mantra): Visarga (Transformation)

Bija Bearer: Vindu

Flower(s): Sunflower, Lotus

Tarot: The Sun, The Hermit

Rune(s): Wunjo, Jera

Mantra: Hreem Shreema Hum Phut Or The: Mahamritunjaya Mantra

Opened, Gives: Wisdom, Intuition, Truth, Liberation, Oneness, Understanding, Peace, Fulfillment, Clarity

Closed, Gives: Deep Anguish, Yearning, Fanaticism, Confusion, Excessiveness

Reference (With Permission)

Take the demarcation of Thirupathi as a holy place of pilgrimage; Lord Venkateshwara, the deity worshipped there is called the Lord of the seven hills, for seven hills have to be climbed before the temple is reached. Obviously the six Chakras (energy centres) and the Sahasraara are indicated here, for in Raajayoga, the supreme is revealed, only when the individual raises the vital energy – the Kundalini Shakthi – up to the seventh stage. One of the hills is named Seshagiri, meaning, snake hill. From the plains, the range gives the appearance of a snake with a raised hood. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

Again, man alone is capable of awakening the serpent-power of the life-energy that lies dormant in him as the Kundalini Shakthi and elevate it through chakras (higher fields of awareness), up to the thousand-spoked wheel on the very crest of the head. This is the uurdhwa Gathi (the Upward Path). This yoga saadhana is possible for man, since he has a straight body and can sit with his trunk and head held in a straight vertical line. Quadrupeds and bipeds other than man are severely handicapped. They cannot tap the vital Kundalini Shakthi. ~ Sathya Sai Baba

%d bloggers like this: