Chakras: Chakra Information & Facts


Chakras: Chakra Colors, Pictures & Information:
‘Chakras’ is derived from the Sanskrit word “cakram” meaning “wheel” or “circle”. The individual chakras are referred to as: 1) Chakrum; 2) Chakra; 3) Cakrum; 4) Cakra. It is alleged that the subtle life energy known as ‘prana’ is channeled from the chakras through a vast network of subtle nerves called nadis. These nadis are said to supply the etheric bodies (kosas) with light, which is responsible for intellect, wisdom, understanding, clarity of mind and awareness. It is said there are as many as 88,000 chakras and 77,000 nadis in our entity and each chakra is ruled by a particular god (truth) or goddess (wisdom). The culimation of all these truths and facets of wisdom (through chakra activation) is said to result in enlightenment or illumination.

There are several different types chakra concepts that can be found in Hindu agamas, tantric texts (Sat-Cakra-Nirupana and the Padaka-Pancaka), Vajrayana Buddhism, the Himalayan Bönpo religion, traditional Chinese acupuncture, rGyud-bzhi (Four Tantras) and Vagbhata’s Ashtangahrdaya.

There are primarily six major chakra centers that culimate in Sahasrara, which is often called the “crown chakra”. The crown chakra has been described as a state of transcendence and enlightenment and is not always considered a chakra.

The chakras are said to have spiritual qualities associated with them and many of their opulances remain dormant until they are opened and nourished by the mysterious kundalini power. Kundalini is a word taken from the sanskrit word “kundal” that means “coiled up”. Kundalini is envisioned as coiled up at the base of the spine and its ascent upward through the chakras activates their dormant powers, truths and wisdoms. These powers, truths and wisdoms are discussed in Patanjali’s yoga sutras.

Adi Shankara described kundalini as:

“Having filled the pathway of the Nadis with the streaming shower of nectar flowing from the Lotus feet, having resumed thine own position from out of the resplendent Lunar regions and Thyself assuming the form of a serpent of three and a half coils, sleepest thou, in the hollow of Kula Kunda (Kula Kunda means the hollow of Mooladhara Sacrum bone)…Thou art residing in secrecy with Thy Lord (The spirit) in the thousand petalled Lotus, having pierced through the Earth situated in ‘Mooladhara’, the Water in Manipura, the Fire abiding in the Svadhisthana, the Air in the Heart (‘Anahata’), the Ether above (Visshuddhi) and ‘Manas’ between the eyebrows (‘Agnya’) and thus broken through the entire ‘Kula Path’.” (Saundarya-Lahari 9.10.)

CHAKRAS: On these pages, you will find information on the Root Chakra (also called the Muladhara Chakrum, Base Cakra, Sex Center or the first chakra), the Navel Chakra (also called Swadisthana Chakrum, Svadisthana Cakra or the second chakra), the Solar Plexus Chakra (also called the Solar Chakrum, Manipura Cakra or the third chakra), the Heart Chakra (also called the Love Chakrum, Anahata Cakra or the fourth chakra), the Throat Chakra (also called the Vishuddi Chakrum, Vishuddha Cakra or the fifth chakra), the Third Eye Chakra (also called the 3rd Eye Chakrum, Ajna Cakra, Agya or the sixth chakra) and the Crown Chakra (also called the Thousand Petalled Chakrum, Sahasrara Cakra, Sahasra or the seventh chakra).

Also See:

%d bloggers like this: