Dr. G. Venkataram – Sathya Sai Baba Devotee

Dr G Venkataraman is a former Vice-Chancellor of the Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning who also served at the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in Mumbai and the Indira Gandhi Atomic Research Centre in Kalpakkam. He was the Founder Director of ANURAG, a unit of DRDO – Defence Research and Development Organization. He is the recipient of the Sri C. V. Raman Centenary Award, Indira Gandhi Award and the prestigious Padma Shri Award from the Government of India. He currently teaches at the Institute besides running the Prashanti Digital Studio and Radio Sai.

Professor G. Venkataraman has also written various well-argued, sober, intelligent and reasonable articles pertaining to the Sathya Sai Baba Controversy. G Venkataraman is often the target of numerous malicious personal attacks made by Robert Priddy and Barry Pittard (former devotees of Sai Baba) on their personal wordpress blogs:


Academic degrees: Honours degree in Physics from the University of Madras, and Ph.D in Physics from the University of Bombay.

Career summary: Served in the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Bombay, of the Department of Atomic Energy, from 1955 to 1973 as Scientist. From 1973 to 1987, served in the Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, of the Department of Atomic Energy, as Director Physics and Electronics Group, Head of the Computer Centre, Head Library and Information Service, from 1978 to 1992 as Director ANURAG in the Defence Research and Development Organisation, holding the rank of a Distinguished Scientist. Retired from that post on superannuation.

Publications: About eighty [80] original papers and review articles in leading physics journals published in America, England, Europe and India.

Books and monographs: One monograph published by MIT Press, Boston, one monograph published by Springer Verlag, Berlin, the official Raman centenary scientific biography of Nobel Prize winner Sir C.V.Raman, commissioned by the Indian Academy of Science and released in October 1988 by Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, and 14 books on physics in a series entitled VIGNETTES IN PHYSICS.

Fellowship: Elected Fellow, Indian Academy of Science, elected Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, elected Fellow, National Academy of Sciences India.

Professional Awards: Sir C.V.Raman Medal of the University Grants Commission, Raman Centenary Medal of the Indian Academy of Science, Indira Gandhi Award of the Indian National Science Academy, and the Sir C.V.Raman Medal of the Indian Science Congress.

Other honours: Jawaharlal Nehru Fellowship conferred by the Nehru Foundation, and the Padma Shri conferred by the President of India.

Participation in international scientific activities: Presented papers in many international conferences, chaired sessions in international conferences, on the organising committee for international conferences, lectured in many universities in India and abroad [from McMaster University in Canada to Victoria University in New Zealand], refereed papers for journals and served on editorial boards of journals.

%d bloggers like this: